Andoni Zubizarreta with two of FC Barcelona's awards / PHOTO: ÁLEX CAPARRÓS-FCB

FC Barcelona was awarded seven awards at the IFFHS World Football Gala which took place this Monday evening in Barcelona. Barça was named the ‘The World’s Club of the 1st Decade’ (2001 through 2010) and the best team of 2011. The ceremony, which took place at the W Hotel, was attended by vice-president Josep Maria Bartomeu, director Jordi Mestre and football director Andoni Zubizarreta.

Leaders of the 21st century

Of the 37 awards passed out tonight during the Gala, FC Barcelona won 7. Among them, two of the most important: Best European team of the decade and world’s best team of the decade. From 2001 through 2010, the team won a total of two Champions Leagues (2006 and 2009), one Club World Cup (2009), one European Super Cup (2009), four La Liga titles (2004/05, 2005/06, 2008/09 and 2009/10), one King’s Cup (2008/09) and three Spanish Super Cups (2006, 2007 and 2010).

FC Barcelona was also named the the best team of 2011. Last year Barça won the Champions League, the Club World Cup, the Liga, the European Super Cup and the Spanish Super Cup.

Xavi, Messi and Guardiola win awards

Xavi, Messi and Guardiola also won awards. Xavi was named The World’s best Playmaker in 2011, Messi finished runner up for the award. The Argentine, however, was named 2011’s World’s Top Goal Scorer. Lastly, Josep Guardiola was named The World’s best Club Coach in 2011 ahead of José Mourinho.

Other awards

Best referee of 2011: Viktor Kassai (Hungary)

2nd best referee of 2011: Howard Webb (ENG)

Best national manager of 2011: Óscar Tabárez (URG)

2nd best national manager of 2011: V. Del Bosque (ESP)

Best keeper of 2011: Iker Casillas (ESP)

2nd best keeper of 2011: Manuel Neuer (GER)

Best league in the world: Primera División (ESP)

2nd best league in the world: Premier League (ENG)

Back to top