UCAM Múrcia 2-2 (5-4) Barça B: Beaten but proud

UCAM Múrcia 2-2 (5-4) Barça B: Beaten but proud

Garcia Pimienta's side lost a very even match which included an epic penalty shoot-out

A first half that was dominated by Barça didn't see them create much danger, so, although the visitors controlled the match, it was actually the hosts that went ahead through Alberto Fernández (1-0, min 24).

Barça reacted quickly with Rey Manaj hitting the post, but the blaugranes couldn't equalise before the break. Things quickly changed in the second half when the official gave a penalty after a foul on Matheus. Rey Manaj, who hadn't missed a penalty this season, made no mistake from the spot (1-1, min 47).

That goal changed the dynamic, and the same player put Barça into the lead  (1-2, min 65) after some great individual play. 

Xemi forces extra-time

Garcia Pimienta's men were unable to hold on, however, and with 10 minutes to play, Xemi scored the goal that sent the game to extra-time. Tiredness would take its toll on both teams, with penalties seemingly inevitable.

Rey Manaj almost won it with a header on 118 minutes but the ball was cleared off the line thanks to a last-ditch move from the host's defence. Despite Iñaki Peña stopping four penalties, Ramos Mingo's miss and Josete's goal meant that Barça B's journey for 2020/21 had come to an end, losing 5-4 on penalties.


UCAM Múrcia, 2 (5)
Barça B, 2 (4)

UCAM Múrcia: Biel Ribas, Liberto (Pablo Espina, min 73), Viti (Romera, min 90), Charlie Dean, Josete Malagón, Rafa de Vicente, Jordi Sánchez (Aketxe, min 90), Jannick (Santi Jara, min 73), Xemi Fernández, Alberto Fernández (Javi Moreno,  min 98) and Johan. 

Barça B: Iñaki Peña, Mingueza, Comas (Ramos Mingo, min 116), Mika (Balde, min 105), Hiroki (Peque, min 79), Collado, Konrad, Matheus, Roger Riera, Nico (Oriol Busquets, min 105) and Rei Manaj.

Goals: 1-0, Alberto Fernández (min 24). 1-1, Rei Manaj, de penal (min 47). 1-2, Rei Manaj (min 65). 2-2, Xemi Fernández (min 80) / PENALTIES: 1-0, Viti. 1-1, Collado. 1-2, Matheus. 2-2, Xemi. 2-3, Balde. 3-3, Javi Moreno. 3-4, Roger Riera. 4-4, Josean Romera. 5-4, Josete. 

Official: Fernando Román Román. Yellow cards for Rafa de Vicente, Pablo Espina, Xemi, Aketxe, Rei Manaj, Matheus and Collado. 


Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article