Acknowledgement for De Jong and Aitana’s values

Acknowledgement for De Jong and Aitana’s values

Both are recipients of the Barça Players Award from the 2020-21 season

Frenkie de Jong and Aitana Bonmatí have collected this Friday the Barça Players Award, which recognises their fair play and respect for the FC Barcelona shirt, as awarded by the Barça Players Association every season. After a popular vote from among more than 5,000 fans, Aitana and De Jong collected the award from the Association's president Ramon Alfonseda, FC Barcelona vice president Rafael Yuste and board member Xavier Puig.

The presentation was also attended by the advisor to the Presidential Cabinet Enric Masip, the vice-presidents of the Barça Players Association Tente Sánchez, Felix Barrado and Jofre Mateu, and board member Laura Llinas.

Commitment and humility

In announcing their verdict, the jury highlighted Frenkie’s commitment to the club since 2019 and his constant humility. Commitment was also emphasized with regard to Aitana, who sets such a fine example for future generations.

Rewarding values

De Jong and Aitana join the list of players who have been given this award since 2010, which is more about attitudes on and off the pitch than actual football results and performances. Except for the 2019-20 season, when the entire men's and women's teams were given the prize in recognition of their attitude in the first months of the pandemic, it has always been an individual award and from 2018-19 season has included a female player.

Previous winners

Bojan Krkic (2009-10)
Andrés Iniesta (2010-11)
Xavi Hernández (2011-12 and 2012-13)
Carles Puyol (2013-14)
Javier Mascherano (2014-15)
Leo Messi (2015-16)
Sergi Roberto (2016-17)
Ivan Rakitic (2017-18)
Ter Stegen and Alexia Putellas (2018-19)
Men's and women's first teams (2019-20)

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article