Bidasoa Irun 26-26 Barça: Draw to kick off away campaign

Bidasoa Irun 26-26 Barça: Draw to kick off away campaign

The blaugranes are held to a draw in the Basque Country and fail to take the win for the first time in the league since the 2021/22 season (Photo: ARRATE MORALES)

The Barça handball team were held to a 26-26 draw by Bidasoa Irun in the second Asobal League game of the season. The home had the better of the contest for most of the game and only a late comeback salvaged a point for Carlos Ortega's team in a low scoring encounter in the Basque Country. 

The draw puts an end to a run of 33 consecutive victories for the blaugranes in the league. The last time they failed to win an Asobal game was back in the 2021/22 season whey they were held to a 32-32 draw away at Antequera. 

Home side on top 

Barça got off to a good start in the Artalek arena with Dika Mem opening the scoring. Nevertheless, the home side were soon back in front at 4-3 with just four minutes gone. 

Bidasoa held on to their advantage for the rest of the half with their lead stretching to three goals on one point. Iñaki Cavero was the stand out performer as was the home defence, stifling Barça at every opportunity. Goalkeeper Harbaoui made six vital stops for Irun in the opening half. 

Barça come closer 

In the second half the home side maintained their form and moved into a five goal lead at 19-14. Bidasoa kept their noses in front for the majority of the second period but at eight minutes from time Barça had pulled themselves back into the contest at 25-24. 

Barça keeper Pérez de Vargas was also a key figure in the game and he kept the home side at bay which allowed Dika Mem to find the net with just seconds remaining to make the final score 26-26. 


Bidasoa Irun: 26

Barça: 26

Bidasoa Irun: Harbaoui (0) Cavero (8), Esteban Salinas (3), Gorka Nieto (4), Rodrigo Salinas (3), García (2) and Zabala (1) - starting seven - Jevtic (0), Emparan (1), Mujica (1), Pacheco (1), Asier Nieto (2) and Díaz (0).

Barça: Pérez de Vargas (0), Aleix (1), Dika Mem (4), Frade (3), Richardson (4), Carlsbogard (2) and Wanne (6) – starting seven  – Pol Valera (0), Jaime Gallego (0), Janc (0), N’Guessan (2), Petrus (0), Langaro (3), Javier Rodríguez (1) and Nielsen (0).

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article