Legendary coaches and the current coaches

Legendary coaches and the current coaches

A look back at some of the most memorable coaches from the professional sections at the Palau


Antoni Serra

Serra coached the team between 1979 and 1985 and you could say that he returned the Barça basketball team back to greatness after a difficult period. At the time Real Madrid were the most powerful Spanish team, however, in the 1977/78 season Serra lead Barça to a 103-96 Copa del Rey final win over their biggest rivals. In 1981 they won their first league title in 12 years with Serra at the helm.

Aíto García Reneses

In three different spells as Barça coach, between 1985 and 1990, 1993 to 1997 and 1998 to 2002, he led to the team to some great results with a talented generation of players from the 1980s and 1990s such Nacho Solozábal, Andrés Jiménez, Audi Norris and Epi. García Reneses helped the team win all there was to win with the exception of the Euroleague Final Four, despite reaching the final on three separate occasions. A meticulous coach in terms of discipline and tactics, he coached the side to nine ACB League titles. 

Svetislav Pesic

Svetislav Pesic coached Barça in two different spells: from 2002 to 2004 and from 2018 to 2020. In his first spell he helped the Club announce themselves on the European stage. A Barça team led by Dejan Bodiroga, Sarunas Jasikevicius and Juan Carlos Navarro finally claimed the Euroleague title beating Benetton Treviso in the final in a packed Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona. In the same season the team also won the ACB League and the Copa del Rey. 

Jasikevicius, Xavi Pascual, Pesic, Aíto García Reneses and Antoni Serra - Basket

Xavier Pascual

Xavier Pascual coached Barça between 2008 and 2016. Prior to taking the reigns he had been assistant coach and a coach and coordinator with the youth teams. His team was led by talents such as uan Carlos Navarro, Ricky Rubio, Fran Vázquez, and Erazem Lorbek and during his spell as coach the team claimed four ACB league titles, three Copas del Rey, three Spanish Super Cups, five Catalan league and a second Euroleague title. 

Sarunas Jasikevicius

Sarunas Jasikevicius started his career as Barça coach in the 2020/21 season after a successful career at the club as a player in which he played a pivotal role in the first Euroleague title in 2003. In his first season in charge the team claimed the league and Copa del Rey double and were also runners-up in the Euroleague Final Four. 


Josep Vilà

Josep Vilà coached the Handball team from 1970 to 1979. During the early years of indoor handball, FC Barcelona were overshadowed by the likes of Granollers and Atlético Madrid, a stranglehold that the blaugranes were able to break on occasions in the 1960s and on two occasions under the reign of Vilà in 1972 and 1973, following on from the opening of the Palau Blaugrana in October 1971. Vilà continued at the club in an assessment role under Valero Rivera. 

Valero Rivera

Valero Rivera was FC Barcelona coach for 20 years between 1984 and 2004. Under his command the handball section experienced the greatest era of its existence. With Rivera, Barça won everything and established themselves as the most successful team in Europe. An unforgettable generation, named the 'Dream Team', including the likes of Masip, Barrufet, Xepkin and Ortega, Rivera coached the team to their very first European Cup success in the 1990/91 season, going on to win five more European trophies between 1995 and 2000 as wel as 12 Asobal league titles and 10 Copa del Rey. 

Josep Vilà, Xavi Pascual, Carlos Ortega and Valero Rivera - Handball

Xavier Pascual

Xavier Pascual, Pasqui, was Barça handball coach between 2009 and 2021. During his time the section won more than 50 trophies, including three European Cups as well as five Club World Cups and 11 Asobal league titles. 

Antonio Carlos Ortega

Antonio Carlos Ortega became Barça coach in the summer of 2021 after figuring as a member of the 'Dream Team' as a player in the 1990s. Ortega played for Spain 146 times and fight on the list of all time scorers in the Asobal League. He came to Barça as coach after gaining experience coaching in Hungary, Japan, Denmark and Germany. 


Josep Lorente

Josep Lorente coached the roller hockey side between 1970 and 1989. He was appointed by president Agustí Montal as part of a move to strengthen the professional sections. When he arrived at the Club, the team had not won a trophy for seven years but in 1973 the roller hockey claimed Barça's first European Cup. As a player he won 35 trophies with Barça; a great psychologist, he knew how to instil a winning mentality into his players. 

Carlos Figueroa

Carlos Figueroa coached the team between 1995 and 2005. Half way through the 1990s the team entered into a tremendous run of results and trophies. In the decade in which he coached the team, Figueroa won 31 trophies, including six European Cups and eight league titles. His final season at Barça saw his team win every competition in which they competed. 

Edu Castro, Carlos Figueroa, Josep Lorente and Quim Paüls - Roller Hockey

Quim Paüls

Quim Paüls coached the roller hockey side from 2006 to 2009 and continued the section's success. In his four seasons as coach he won four Ok leagues, two European Leagues, two Intercontinental Cups, three Spanish Super Cups, four Continental Cups, a Copa del Rey and a Copa CERS. 

Edu Castro

Edu Castro has been the roller hockey coach since 2017 and in his time in charge the team have won four OK leagues, a European League, two Copas del Rey, an Intercontinental Cup, two Spanish Super Cups and four Catalan leagues. 


Marc Carmona

Marc Carmona coached the futsal team between 2004 and 2016. A former blaugrana player and ex Catalonia coach, he had previously occupied the role of technical secretary at the Club. With Carmona as coach the team were promoted to the top flight in 2006 after three years in the Second Division. The was made professional and during the following six years the team established itself as a force to be reckoned with in domestic futsal. 

Andreu Plaza

Andreu Plaza coached the side between 2016 and 2021 after four years as coach of the B team. Plaza won 13 trophies as coach: two league titles, a Champions League, two Spanish Super Cups, three Copas del Rey, a Spanish Super Cup and four Copas Cataluña in his five years as boss. His partnership with Miguel Andrés returned Barça to the elite of the game and ended the supremacy of Movistar Inter. 

Jesús Velasco

Jesús Velasco arrived at Barça in the summer of 2021 after success as a coach in Italy, Spain and France. The Toledo born coach has a Physical Education degree and his first job came in his native Spain in 1996 with Talavera before moving to Italy two years later where he won six league titles and four domestic cups at Torino, Prato and then Luparense. 

Marc Carmona, Andreu Plaza and Jesús Velasco - Futsal


Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article