Barça Lassa 5 – 2 Jaén: Copa del Rey champions!

Barça Lassa 5 – 2 Jaén: Copa del Rey champions!

Barça beat the Andalusians in the final with a goal from Boyis, a brace from Ferrao and definitive goals from Marcenio and Adolfo that allow Barça to turn around a 2-0 deficit and win their sixth Copa del Rey

Defending champions FC Barcelona Lassa futsal won their sixth Copa del Rey title on Sunday, beating Jaén in the final for the second year in a row, this time 5-2, in Ciudad Real.

But perhaps even more impressive, the Catalans did it by overturning a 2-0 deficit with five unanswered goals in the second half, including three goals in the final 21 seconds of the game to usher in the celebration.

It took only one look at the scoreboard at halftime to see that things didn’t go well early for Barça Lassa. Down 2-0 at the Quijote Arena despite having more scoring chances was mainly due to Jaén’s solid defense and goalkeeping.

After Carlitos and Campoy score for Jaén, Barça didn’t find the net until the second half, when Boyis cut the deficit in half in the 25th.

Barça continued to dominate and with Jaén in foul trouble, Barça’s constant attacks yielded Ferrao’s equalizer in minute 32.

Barça Lassa didn’t want to go to overtime, but the game appeared headed that way when in the final minute of play the score was still deadlocked at two.

But with 21 seconds remaining, Barça didn’t just take the lead, they broke the game open.

First, Ferrao scored the go-ahead goal with a brilliant back-heel shot. And then Marcenio headed into an open net and Adolfo made it 5-2 second later.

The title is Barça’s second of the season following the Copa de España won in Valencia.


Barça Lassa, 5
Jaén Paraíso Interior, 2

Barça: Dídac, Aicardo, Lozano, Marcenio, Ferrao —STARTING FIVE— Boyis, Dyego, Adolfo, Esquerdinha, Arthur, Joselito, Léo Santana.

Jaén: Espíndola, Mauricio, Ramon, Rafa López, Alan Brandi —STARTING FIVE— Míchel, Giasson, Campoy, Carlitos, Piqueras, Ángel Bingyoba, Dani Martín.

Goals: 0-1, Carlitos (min 9). 0-2, Campoy (min 16). 1-2, Boyis (min 25). 2-2, Ferrao (min 32). 3-2, Ferrao (min 40). 4-2, Marcenio (min 40). 5-2, Adolfo (min 40).

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article