FCB Barcelona win 18th ACB league!

FCB Barcelona win 18th ACB league!

The 3-1 final series win against Real Madrid has won the national crown for the 18th time Xavi Pascual has now won four out of seven finals with FCB, and Navarro has an eighth winners medals in his collection

FC Barcelona has won the Spanish championship for the 18th time, and for the 15th time in the ACB era. It is the seventh time the club has won the title this century, and is also the fourth win for Xavi Pascual.

Barça won the domestic title for the first time in 1958/59 but didn’t repeat that feat until back-to-back crowns in 1980/81 and 1982/83. Since the ACB era began in 1983/84, the Catalans have added another 15 titles to the list.

Four for Xavi Pascual

This season was the eighth in a row that Barça reached the final, and the seventh under Xavi Pascual – who has now led the team to four national championships in eight years.

It also means Barça take the trophy back from Real Madrid, winners last year and their opponents in the last three finals.

Eight for Navarro

The 3-1 win in the best-of-five series saw Juan Carlos Navarro once again performing brilliantly when it mattered. Barça’s all-time top scorer in the play-offs has now won the league eight times for the club.

But for nine players on the current roster, this was their first ever taste of ACB League glory. Such was the case with Dorsey, Pullen, Nachbar, Papanikolaou, Lampe, Tomic, Abrines, Todorovic and Hezonja. Apart from the aforesaid Navarro, all of Sada (5), Marcelinho Huertas (3), Lorbek (3) and Oleson (2) had already won the championship before, although in the cases of Huertas and Oleson this also includes wins with Laboral Kutxa (for the latter this was the first ACB title he has won at FCB).

Lorbek has now won the Liga ACB three times, but the Slovenian has also experienced similar success in Italy (04/05 with Fortitudo de Bolonya) and Russia (08/09 with CSKA).

Papanikolaou and Dorsey also won the Greek title in 2011/12 with Olympiakos, while Nachbar won in Slovenia with Union Olimpija (1997/98), in Italy with Benetton Treviso (01/02) and in Germany with Brose Basket Bamber (2012/13).

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article