Barça 3-3; 4-3 ElPozo Murcia: Heroes on penalties

Barça 3-3; 4-3 ElPozo Murcia: Heroes on penalties

An epic final ends with a seventh Spanish Cup title

arça overcome adversity to win a thumping Spanish Cup final on Sunday night. It was a simply epic encounter, with ElPozo Murcia leading all the way but the Catalans refusing steadfastly to hand in the towel. The finales went into overdrive. Pito was red carded and a fuming Dyego was then sent off as well for protesting. Gadeia scored for the opposition and it looked all over but a double penalty in the dying seconds was converted by Catela and the game went into overtime.

No score in extra time and the game went into penalties, and Miquel Feixas made a decisive save, then Catela converted his won and the trophy was won for the seventh time in Barça history.

Poor start

Barça took a long time to settle in Cartagena, and ElPozo Murcia insisted on punishing them for it. Dídac Plana made some fine saves, but he was finally beaten by Rafa Santos with less then two minutes to go before the interval.

Barça were a different team after the restart, and a Catela penalty very quickly got them level again. The second half was a simply manic game of end to end football, with Marlon putting Murica back ahead after 27 minutes. The disappointment only lasted two minutes before André Coelho got the blaugrana back on level terms.

Breathtaking climax

And then came all the utter drama at the end, when a goal 17 seconds from the end, and Barça having just lost two players, looked to have spelled the end of it. But that miraculous penalty from MVP Catela brought Barça back from the dead, and from there they eventually went on to win a final that people are going to talking about for years.


BARÇA, 3 (4)


Barça: Dídac, Antonio, Dyego, Adolfo, Catela, Pito, Matheus, Touré, Erick, André Coelho, Harrisson, Pol Cano, Miquel Feixas (GK). 

ElPozo Murcia: Edu, Gadeia, Marcel, Niyazov, Taffy, Esteban, D. Álvarez, Marlon, Eric Pérez. F. Valerio, Rafa Santos, Ricardo. 

Goals: 0-1, min 18 (Rafa Santos). 1-1, Catela (min 21). 1-2, Marlon (min 27). 2-2, André Coelho (min 29).  2-3, Gadeia (min 40). 3-3, Catela (min 40). 

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article