Barça 1-1 Palma: Penalties secure spot in final

Barça 1-1 Palma: Penalties secure spot in final

Jesús Velasco's side will play in the Copa de España final after putting out Palma on penalties

Not an easy win at all, but Barça are through to the Copa de España final after ultimately defeating Palma Futsal on penalties. Dyego and Neguinho were the goalscorers in normal time, with the 1-1 final score meaning the match went to penalties. Player of the match Miquel Feixas saved one, Dídac another. Matheus missed his, but Dyego scored the winning penalty for this squad that keeps going to the very end.


Goalless first half

A very even first half saw Barça and Palma attempting to break the deadlock without success. Both Dídac Plana and Luan Muller and their respective defences were reigning supreme.

Barça's best opportunities can from Adolfo, Matheus and Pito, while Rivillos had a great chance after 19 minutes for Palma, but the blaugrana keeper saved. 0-0 at halftime.

Nail-biting end and final bound

Palma came out with attack on their minds after the break and Miquel Feixas played an important role for Barça, saving the Mallorcans' shots time and again. This platform allowed Barça to grab the first goal of the game, Dyego scoring a superb free kick (1-0, min 28).

However, Palma also had their eyes on a final spot and Neguinho equalised (1-1, min 34) to show that semi-finals are never easy to navigate.  That was the final score at the end of normal time and the match went to penalties.

Miquel Feixas and Dídac Plana stood tall to save one penalty each, and despite a miss by Matheus, Dyego put away the final penalty to confirm classification for the Copa de España final. A real desire to go through shown by this Barça futsal side, despite being hampered by injury and tiredness.


BARÇA 1 (4)
PALMA 1 (3)

Barça: Dídac, Adolfo, Catela, Erick, Touré - starting five - Matheus, André Coelho, Antonio, Dyego, Pito, Harrison, Pol Cano, Miquel Feixas (sg)

Palma: Luan, Rivillos, Neguinho, Fabinho, Marcelo - starting five - Bruno Gomes, Cléber, Gordillo, Chaguinha, Vilian, Rómulo, Ernesto, Moslem, Carlos Barrón (sg)

Goals: 1-0, Dyego (min 28). 1-1, Neguinho (min 34).

Referees: Cordero Gallardo, Carrillo Arroyo. Yellow cards to Matheus and André Coelho from Barça, and Ernesto, Chaguinha, Gordillo and Cléber from Palma.

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article