Granada 1-4 Barça: League champions!

Granada 1-4 Barça: League champions!

A comfortable away win confirms the inevitable... The Liga title for the fifth year in a row!

A large crowd at the Nuevo Los Cármenes has witnessed a not little piece of history, but a huge piece of history as FC Barcelona became the first team to win the Liga F no fewer than five times in a row. Two goals from Fridolina Rolfö, and one each from Lucy Bronze and Graham Hansen have mathematically clinched a title that was only ever going to one team, one that has come this far without losing a single game.

Quick time

Fridolina Rolfö put things on the right course almost as soon as the game had started, converting a sweet assist from Graham Hansen. As the Catalans kept plugging away a second goal looked sure to come soon, and did when Lucy Bronze pounced on a failed clearance by the home goalkeeper to make it 2-0.

Rolfö was playing in a slightly more forward position than usual, and was a constant threat to the Andalusian defence. She had already had chances to score herself before supplying the assist for Graham to as good as settle the win before the half-time whistle had blown, and that was even despite Granada nabbing a consolation goal from the penalty spot.


Some excellent goalkeeping from Sandra Estévez in the Granada goal prevented Barça from utterly running away with the game. That's not to say that Cata Coll was entirely untested, but the Barça stopper did what she had to do. With a quarter of an hour to go Claudia Pina was brought down in the area and Rolfö capped a brilliant personal performance by converting the penalty for the definitive 4-1.

Barça had chances to score more, but they didn't want to go in. Not that it mattered. The result was already more than certain. And so was the Liga championship trophy, which once again has blaugrana ribbons on it.


Granada, 1
Barça, 4

Granada: Sandra Estévez; Naroa Uriarte, Marta Carrasco, Isabel Álvarez (Itziar Gastearena, min. 81), Esther Martín-Pozuelo; Laura Pérez (Edna Imade, min. 63), Ari Mingueza, Alicia Redondo, Ornella Vignola (Alba Pérez, min. 75); Laura Requena (Naima García, min. 75), Andrea Gómez (Carlota Suárez, min. 63)

Barça: Cata Coll; Lucy Bronze, Irene Paredes, Ingrid Engen, Ona Batlle (Mariona Caldentey, min. 58); Alexia Putellas (Claudia Pina, min. 58), Aitana Bonmatí, Keira Walsh; Graham Hansen, Salma Paralluelo (Bruna Vilamala, min. 71), Fridolina Rolfö (Esmee Brugts, min. 78)

Goals: Fridolina Rolfö (0-1, min. 2), Lucy Bronze (0-2, min. 10), Graham Hansen (0-3, min. 37), Laura Pérez (1-3, min. 47), Fridolina Rolfö (1-4, min. 75)

Referee: María Planes Terol

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article