Aitana named UEFA Women’s Player of the Year

Aitana named UEFA Women’s Player of the Year

The MVP of the Champions League and World Cup adds another individual honour to her extraordinary collection

FC Barcelona continue to be the queens of Europe. And this Thursday, yet another accolade landed at the club as Aitana Bonmatí capped an amazing season for club and country by being named UEFA Women’s Player of the Year.

Not only did the Catalan win the UEFA Women's Champions League with Barça and the World Cup with Spain but she was also named MVP of both competitions.

The verdict was announced at the Forum Grimaldi, Monaco in the build-up to the men's Champions League draw, an event attended by the director responsible for women's football at the club, Joan Soler.

Aitana was shortlisted together with the scorer of Spain's winning goal in the final, Olga Carmona, and Chelsea and Australia forward Sam Kerr.

Salma Paralluelo (5), Keira Walsh (7) and Caroline Graham Hansen (8) of Barça were also named in the top ten women of the year. Barça coach Jonatan Giráldez was also in the running to win the Coach of the Year award, but the winner was eventually announced as England boss Sarina Wiegman.

Wonderful season

25-year-old Bonmatí joined Barça when she was just 13 and was immediately noted for her outstanding skill and exceptional ability to read the game and make the right decisions quickly.

She was given greater responsibilities in the team this year, and also a slightly more attacking role, and responded with five goals and eight assists and the MVP award in the UWCL.


And she was also named the best player at the recent World Cup, which her team won in Australia and New Zealand.

History continuing

Aitana was UEFA's winner this year, but this is just the continuation of the Barça legacy with this award, which had been picked up by Alexia Putellas in the two previous editions, the first of those being particularly special because Barça swept the podium. Jennifer Hermoso and Lieke Martens were named second and third.

Barça also has Lucy Bronze, who won the award in 2018/19 while playing for Olympique Lyonnais.


Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article