Eight blaugranes nominated for the Ballon d'Or

Eight blaugranes nominated for the Ballon d'Or

Lewandowski and Gündoğan on the men's shortlist, while Salma Paralluelo, Patri, Aitana, Mapi Leon, Oshoala and Rolfö are on the women's shortlist

The magazine France Football has released the names of the nominees for the men's and women's Ballon d'Or awards, the Kopa Trophy for the best under-21 player, and the Yashin Trophy for the world's best goalkeeper.

Twelve Barça players have been nominated across the four different trophies. The Women's Ballon d'Or sees no fewer than six players nominated, the most from any one team.

Lewandowski and Gündoğan up for the men's Ballon d'Or

The Ballon d'Or is one of the most prestigious trophies awarded to the best player from the previous season according to the magazine France Football. There are 2 Barça players among the nominees. Robert Lewandowski is a regular at these gala events, as this is his eighth nomination.

The other blaugrana on the list is one of the new signings, with İlkay Gündoğan nominated for the first time for the Ballon d'Or.

Six nominees for the women's Ballon d'Or

No fewer than six Barça players have been nominated for the women's Ballon d'Or. The European champions are well represented through Salma Paralluelo, Patri Guijarro, Aitana Bonmatí, Mapi León, Oshoala and Rolfö. They all won the Champions League during a wonderful season for Jonatan Giráldez' side.

Salma Paralluelo and Aitana Bonmatí also won the World Cup a few weeks ago with Spain, with the Catalan named the tournament's best player.

A Barça side full of young talent

The Kopa Trophy will also be awarded to the best player aged under 21 years old. Barça players have won the last two editions of the award and both Pedri and Gavi have been nominated again this year, with Alejandro Balde joining them.

Barça is the team with the most nominees for the trophy, as three of the 10 play for Xavi Hernández' side.

Ter Stegen nominated for the Yashin Trophy

The other award to be presented is the Yashin Trophy for the world's best goalkeeper. Barça's goalkeeper, Marc-André ter Stegen, is among the 10 nominees.

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article