Barça B 2–1 Espanyol B: Victory in the derby!

Barça B 2–1 Espanyol B: Victory in the derby!

Garcia Pimienta's side won with goals from Peque and Rey Manaj

Barça B took the derby in a hard-fought match against Espanyol B (2-1). Garcia Pimienta's team won with goals from Peque and Rey Manaj, their second consecutive victory at the Johan Cruyff Stadium.

Peque puts Barça B ahead

Espanyol B came flying out of the blocks in the first half and were the first to get a shot on goal, albeit that it was deflected away by the Barça B defence. The hosts didn't have any luck in front of goal in the opening exchanges, however, their insistence to keep on the front foot eventually got its reward when Peque took advantage of a header from Nils to put Barça B one nil up on nine minutes.

As they pressed for a second, their clearest chance came from a counterattack by Collado and Nils, before a header from a corner from Ferran saw Espanyol knock the wind out of Barça B's sails just before the break (1-1, min 38).

Rey Manaj breaks Espanyol hearts

In the second half, Arnau Tenas' spectacular save stopped Espanyol B from getting a second goal, before Hiroki Abe reappeared after his injury only to have to go off again a few minutes later.

Rey Manaj broke the deadlock with an extraordinary piece of individual play inside the area 10 minutes from the end. It turned out to be the winner and moved Barça B out of the relegation zone.

Match Details:

Barça B, 2
Espanyol B, 1

Barça B: Arnau Tenas, Comas, Mika, Nils Mortimer (Manaj, min 67), Lucas de Vega, Collado, Jandro, Alvaro Sanz, Balde, Peque (Hiroki, min 74, Matheus, min 77)), Ilaix Moriba (Nico, min 67).

Espanyol B: Joan García, Rubén Sánchez, Nil Jiménez, Román Tugarinov, Alejandro Pérez, Becerra, Iván Gil (Julen Álvarez, min 58), Ferran Jutgià (Roger Garcia, min 77), Max Svensson (Raigal, min 58), Luís Recasens and Gori.

Goals: 1-0, Peque (min 9); 1-1, Ferran (min 38); 2-1, Rey Manaj (min 80).

Official: De Ena Wolf. Yellow cards for Rubén Sanchez, Nil Jiménez, Tugarinov, Lluís Recasens, Raigal and Ilaix. 


Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article