Barça B 1–1 (5-3) CD Badajoz: Into the final!

Barça B 1–1 (5-3) CD Badajoz: Into the final!

García Pimienta's side qualify for the last game of the promotion play-offs after scoring all five spot-kicks in the penalty shootout

Barça B have qualified for the play-off final! García Pimienta's side managed to eliminate Badajoz, in Algeciras, and are now 90 minutes away from promotion. It was a difficult game, which required a penalty shoot-out to decide the winners, and Akieme, Araujo, Cuenca, Manaj and Monchu all scored from the spot to earn the blaugranes a famous win.

A tough rival

The joy is always greater when you strive bravely to achieve a goal, and this is precisely what happened to Barça B, who had to work hard to beat Badajoz. Despite dominating the game and having control of the ball for the most part, the solidity of the opponent made things difficult. Barça B had many chances, but Kike Royo was unbeatable in the first half, with his heroics providing a platform for Guzmán Casaseca to open the scoring against the run of play (0-1, min 39).

Barça battle to the end

Badajoz stuck to their task in the second half but Barça B didn't give up. Akieme hit the post (min 57), before continued pressure saw a header by Manaj finally drawing the blaugranes level (1-1, min 82). 

Decisive penalties

The scores remained the same throughout extra time despite some more chances for both teams, so penalties would decide the tie. Akieme, Araujo, Cuenca, Manaj and Monchu converted Barça's five, while Iñaki Peña stopped Cesar Morgado's, sending Barça to the final.

Match Details

Barça B, 1 (5)
CD Badajoz, 1 (3)

Barça B: Iñaki Peña, Morer, Cuenca, Monchu, Araujo, Jandro (Mingueza, min 81), Akieme, Matheus (Reis, min 68), R. Manaj, Konrad (Gerard, min 65) and Ilaix Moriba (Nils, min 68).

Badajoz: Kike Royo, Toni Abad (Fobi, min 105), Candelas (Kike Pina, min 119), César Morgado, Sergi Maestre, Guzmán Casaseca (David Concha, min 68), Caballero (Ramos, min 60), Aquino (Santamaría, min 60), Álex Corredera, Pablo Vázquez and Adilson (Isma Cerro, min 119).

Goals: 0-1, Guzmán Casaseca (min 39). 1-1, Manaj (min 82). Penalties. 1-0, Akieme. 2-0, Araujo. 2-1, Isma Cerro. 3-1, Cuenca. 3-2, Concha. 4-2, Rei Manaj. 4-3, Corredera. 5-3, Monchu.

Official: Raúl Martín González Francés. Yellow cards for Reis, Araujo and Mingueza.

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article