Frenkie de Jong and Aitana Bonmatí win Barça Players Award20/21

Frenkie de Jong and Aitana Bonmatí win Barça Players Award20/21

Jury led by FC Barcelona vice-president, Rafael Yuste, and Barça Player Group president, Ramon Alfonseda, announced on Tuesday.

Aitana Bonmatí and Frenkie de Jong have won the Barça Players Award for 2020/21, as selected by the FC Barcelona Players Group in recognition of the most sporting male and female player of the previous season. The jury gathered on Tuesday at Camp Nou to make their decision on the basis of votes cast by more than 5,000 fans around the world. Those votes singled out Messi, De Jong, Ter Stegen and Martens, Alèxia and Aitana as the finalists.

Jurat Premi Barça Jugadors 2020/21

Frenkie De Jong (Arkel, Netherlands, 1996) is honoured on his commitment to FC Barcelona and the city since joining the club in the summer of 2019, and his readiness to play in a variety of different positions when called upon.

Aitana Bonmatí (Sant Pere de Ribes, 1998) was rewarded for her constant improvement and the example she sets for future generations of women footballers. Here words on winning the Champions League, where she was viewed as the best player in the final, and where her belief in the team and sheer commitment shown ever since she entered La Masia, were also highlighted.

FC Barcelona vice-president Rafael Yuste and the president of the ABJ, Ramon Alfonseda, also congratulated the team on their attitude throughout a season without fans in the stadium and with all kinds of other unusual difficulties to overcome.

Barça Players Award Committee 2020/21:

Rafael Yuste, vice-president of FC Barcelona.
Ramon Alfonseda, president of Barça Players Group.
Xavier Puig, FC Barcelona director responsible for women’s football.
Anna Caula, General Secretary for Sport.
Jofre Mateu, vice-president of Barça Players Group.
Laura Llinàs, director of Barça Players Group.
Lluís Mascaró, assistant director of Sport newspaper.
Sergi Solé, editor in chief of Mundo Deportivo newspaper.
Carme Nieto, pioneer of women’s football at FC Barcelona.
Lorea Bakero, reporter for Mundo Deportivo.
Ramon Besa, reporter for El País.
Jordi Costa, reporter for Catalunya Ràdio.
Marga Lluch, reporter for Ràdio 4.
Roger Pascual, reporter for El Periódico.

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article