Iniesta and Messi are now on 8 league titles alongside Xavi Hernández / FCB

Leo Messi and Andrés Iniesta continue to make history in a Barça shirt. With the latest having been claimed away at Granada, the 24h in the Club’s history, the two players now have eight each in their personal collection in a blaugrana shirt, equalling the total of legendary midfielder Xavi Hernández. Six of those eight league titles have come in the last eight seasons, a demonstration that the two players have been instrumental in Barça’s domination over recent years.

With the latest title, Messi and Iniesta have won claimed 27 trophies each, more than anyone else in the Club’s history: eight league titles, six Spanish Super Cups, four Champions League titles, three Copas del Rey, three European Super Cups and three Club World Cups.

Following Messi and Iniesta are Gerard Piqué, Sergio Busquets and Dani Alves who all have six league titles to their names. The trio have now won 22 trophies since coming to the first team, a figure which puts them now ahead of two other Barça legends, Carles Puyol and Víctor Valdés who both have 21 trophies to their name. Piqué, Sergio and Alves now find themselves just three behind another figurehead in Barça recent history, midfielder Xavi Hernández who won 25 trophies during his Barça career.

Back to top