Everything you need to know about La Liga 2019/20

Everything you need to know about La Liga 2019/20

Find out about the new season that kicks off on Friday, August 16th

The 2019/20 league season is about to start, with the first match of the season to be held at the new San Mamés when FC Barcelona take on Athletic Club. Pre-season tours in Japan and the United States have been completed, and the start of the domestic competition is highly anticipated. But do you know everything about this new edition of the league?

Start of the competition

FC Barcelona will open the new league season when they visit Athletic Club at the new San Mamés on Friday, August 16, kick-off 9.00pm CEST.

First match at Camp Nou

Football is back at our stadium on Sunday, August 25. It will be the second round of matches and the opponent is Real Betis.

Promoted teams

The promoted teams that will form part of the 2019/20 league are Osasuna, Mallorca and Granada.

When will the Clásicos be played?

The first Clásico of the season will be on October 27 at the Camp Nou, corresponding to week 10. The return at the Santiago Bernabéu will be on March 1. Curiously, they are the same dates as last season's fixtures, which Barça won 5-1 and 0-1.

When are the international breaks?

International breaks will be in September - between weeks 3 and 4, in October - between weeks 8 and 9, and, finally, in November - between weeks 13 and 14.

The last game that FC Barcelona will play before the Christmas break will be on Sunday, December 22 at the Camp Nou against Alavés.

Further, there will be no matches on Sunday, December 29.

After the Christmas holidays, the league calendar will resume with Espanyol-Barça. The first match at the Camp Nou after the festive season will be on Sunday, January 19, 2020, when Barça will face Granada in the match corresponding to week 20 of the campaign.

Barça's 89th season in the top flight 

Ernesto Valverde's squad begin Barça's 89th season in the Spanish top flight. Along with Athletic Club and Real Madrid, Barça are part of a select group of teams that have never been relegated.

The most important dates to keep in mind

Objective: Win the title again

FC Barcelona will seek to become La Liga champion for the third consecutive time. Last season's title confirmed their hegemony in the domestic competition: eight of the last 11 leagues have gone to Barça. Throughout their time in the First Division, the club have been proclaimed league champion on 26 occasions, and on Friday, August 16, a new league campaign begins.

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article