Messi, Iniesta, Xavi and Neymar named in the man list for Ballon d'Or

Messi, Iniesta, Xavi and Neymar named in the man list for Ballon d'Or

Four Barça's players make the 23-man shorlist for the Ballon d'Or

Leo Messi, Andrés Iniesta, Xavi Hernández and Neymar Jr are the four FC Barcelona candidates for the Ballon d‘Or 2013. The winner will be announced on Monday January 134 at a gala in Zurich.

The Argentinian is looking to win the award for the fifth time in a row
, while Xavi and Iniesta have both been on the podium before. This is the second time that Brazilian Neymar Jr has been shortlisted, and the first as a Barça player.

Second most represented team

The following 23 men (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013:

Gareth Bale (Wales), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay), Radamel Falcao (Colombia), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Robert Lewandowski (Poland), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Müller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Özil (Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Franck Ribéry (France), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Luis Suárez (Uruguay), Thiago Silva (Brazil), Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire), Robin Van Persie (Netherlands), Xavi (Spain).

The following ten coaches (in alphabetical order, first nationality and then team) are in contention for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football 2013:

Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain FC/Real Madrid CF), Rafael Benítez (Spain/Chelsea FC/SSC Napoli), Antonio Conte (Italy/Juventus), Vicente Del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC former coach), Jupp Heynckes (Germany/FC Bayern München former coach), Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), José Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid CF/Chelsea FC), Luiz Felipe Scolari (Brazil/Brazil national team), Arsène Wenger (France/Arsenal FC).

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article