Ferrao and Dyego, the goalscorers during the game | ERNESTO ARADILLA

FC Barcelona Lassa have made it to the final of the League play offs thanks to a 3-1 win in the penalty shoot out over ElPozo Murcia which came after the two sides could not be separated in normal time which ended 2-2. The win came in third game of their semi-final against ElPozo and Andreu Plaza's team had to overcome the dismissal of Juanjo and a second half comeback by their opponents to allow Aicardo, Lozano and Ferrao to score the decisive penalties and send Barça into the final.

The first half started cautiously on behalf of both sides until the home side were awarded a double penalty in the 14th minute. Fortunately for the blaugranes, Bebé missed the spot kick. A minute later and Barça were a man down when Juanjo was sent off for handball but once again ElPozo missed the penalty with keeper Sedano making an excellent save for Barça.

Just before half time, the visitors took the lead, Ferrao beating the keeper with a right foot shot to allow Barça to go in 1-0 up at the break.

However, ElPozo came right back at the start of the second half with an equaliser, Fernando surprising Sedano with a shot from distance. With a man advantage, ElPozo grew in confidence and they took the lead just a minute later when Miguelín made it 2-1.

At this point it looked like Barça were going out of the competition only for Dyego to bring them back to life with an equaliser in the 33rd minute.

The Brazilian's goal took the game into extra time where Barça hit the woodwork twice before the contest entered the decisive penalty shoot out. Aicardo and Àlex exchanged penalties before Lozano gave Barça a 2-1 lead. Andresito slipped just at the wrong time for ElPozo and missed his spot kick top open up a chance for Barça. Ferrao made no mistake to take the blaugranes into the final and at the same time, qualify 


ElPozo Murcia, 2 (1)
FC Barcelona Lassa, 2 (3)

ElPozo Murcia: Fabio, Bebe, Álex, Miguelin i Raúl Campos –starting five–. Matteus, Andresito, Pito, Fernando and Marinovic.
FC Barcelona Lassa: Juanjo, Aicardo, Lozano, Dyego and Ferrao –starting five–. Adolfo, Roger, Marc Tolrà, Joao Batista, Rafa López, Joselito, Paco Sedano.
Goals: 0-1, Ferrao (minut 17); 1-1, Fernando (minut 21); 2-1, Miguelín (minut 22); 2-2, Dyego (minut 33) / Shoot out: 0-1, Aicardo; 1-1, Álex; 1-2, Lozano and 1-3, Ferrao.  

Back to top