Iniesta, Messi, Sergio and Mascherano, the four captains / FCB

The FC Barcelona first team have chosen their four captains for the coming season, with Andrés Iniesta, Leo Messi, Sergio Busquets and Javier Mascherano, picked by their teammates to lead the side.

With the departure of Xavi, Iniesta takes over as first captain, with Messi and Sergio repeating as second and third vice-captains and Javier Mascherano coming in as the fourth captain.

The voting was done in secret by the squad and the coaching staff now have to give their approval to the results.

First team regulars

In his 14th season at the Club, Iniesta, who played 41 games (2,945 minutes) and scored 3 goals last season, will lead the side, with, Messi, in his twelfth season, with 56 games and 56 goals last year, will be his vice-captain. Sergio  played 3.636 minutes, scoring 1 goal and Mascherano put in 3,926 minutes in 46 games last year.

Back to top