25 years of trophies / FCB

The 2015/16 season saw another array of trophies end up in the hands of FC Barcelona, as the team went on to claim the European Super Cup, Club World Cup, the Spanish league title and the Copa del Rey.

Winning trophies year upon year has now become a common theme for Barça, but it was since 1991 when things really began to change. When Johan Cruyff guided the team to the league title exactly 25 years ago, the mentality of the club changed, paving the way for Barça’s most successful ever era.

There has been no shortage of legends who have helped the cause, from the likes of Koeman, Guardiola, Romario, Bakero and Stoitchkov, onto Ronaldo, Rivaldo and Ronaldinho to more recent figures like Valdés, Xavi, Puyol, Iniesta and the deadly trio of the current side: Messi, Suárez and Neymar Jr.

There have also been a host of top managers who have contributed to the club’s success, such as Cruyff, Robson, Van Gaal, Rijkaard, Guardiola, Tito Vilanova and current boss Luis Enrique.

Within the last quarter of a century, the club has gone on to win more trophies across all competitions than any other side. The numbers speak for themselves.

Back to top