Barça Lassa v Porto: Europe is blaugrana again! (4-2)

Barça Lassa v Porto: Europe is blaugrana again! (4-2)

Barça Lassa plays excellently against the hosts, dominating the scoreboard throughout to win the trophy for the 22nd time and secure their third treble

The European League is coming home. Barça Lassa were able to handle the partisan crowd at the Dragão Caixa and they have defeated 4-2 Porto to lift the trophy for the 22nd time in their history. Aitor Egurrola starred once again with a succession of stunning saves and the goals came from Lucas Ordoñez, Pablo Álvarez and a Pau Bargalló double. Edu Castro’s side dominated the scoreboard throughout.

The final started with both sides showing each other plenty of respect. The Portuguese side wanted to impose a fast rhythm on the game. Porto had the first chances but Barça responded soon after with a shot from Pau Bargalló saved by the opposition keeper Carles Grau.

Just when it looked like Porto might make their pressure tell, the blaugranas opened the score. Lucas Ordoñez shot went in to give his side the initial advantage (1-0). The Catalans defended excellently and they then almost doubled the lead with a Barroso shot which hit the post.

Electric blaugranas

The second half couldn’t have started better for Edu Castro’s men. The captain Aitor Egurrola demonstrated his star quality in goal with a penalty save, which motivated his side to go up the other end and score the second through Pablo Álvarez (2-0).

Porto kept attacking to no avail as they found no way past the inspired keeper. Barça Lassa then made it 3-0 in the 32nd minute. Pau Bargalló’s powerful shot gave the keeper no chance.

Porto close gap

The home side’s insistence eventually brings them their reward following a penalty and blue card for Pablo Álvarez. Egurrola saved but Gonçalo Alves followed up to make it 3-1. Lucas Ordoñez wasn’t able to score the fourth from a free kick before the home team got their second (3-2).

Bargalló's winner 

The final minutes of the game were thrilling and completely open. The scoreboard didn’t move until Pau Bargalló scored the winner in the 38th minute (4-2). The blaugrana scored his second of the night and this was enough to clinch the European League for the 22nd time. Moreover, Edu Castro’s team have won the treble in what has been a perfect season.

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article