Iberostar Tenerife 83-87 Barça: A win to go top!

Iberostar Tenerife 83-87 Barça: A win to go top!

Pesic's men end a bad streak at Santiago Martín and take advantage of Madrid's stumble

After three straight losses during their visits to Iberostar Tenerife, Barça won 83-87 on Sunday evening and, thanks to Real Madrid's defeat, took top spot in the Endesa League. Both teams began the match well, scoring regularly. A three-pointer by Salin drew the home side level halfway through the first period, but six points without reply saw the visitors move into a seven-point lead. By the end of the first period, the locals had managed to get themselves back into the game (20-23).

The same script followed for most of the second period, with two consecutive three-pointers just keeping Barça ahead. The Blaugrana them improved defensively and significantly, and a three-pointer by Claver in the last possession of the period gave Pesic's team a ten point lead (40-50).


A Hanga triple helped Barça to further surge ahead (42-57), but after taking their foot off of the gas, Tenerife took full advantage with a 14-0 spell. By the end of the third period, there was just six points in it (58-64). Abrines, Hanga and Heurtel kept Barça ticking over, but a four-point play by Salin and a Konate triple saw the hosts level with four and a half minutes to play.

Each time Pesic's team got ahead at this point, the locals came straight back with a basket of their own, and it was still all square (83-83) in the last minute. Ante Tomic, after a magnificent reverse, scored a virtually definitive basket and Alex Abrines' two free throws sealed the victory.


Iberostar Tenerife, 83
Barça, 87

Iberostar Tenerife: Huertas (9), Salin (24), Díez (), Bogris (4), White (6) -starters- Shermadini (20), Yusta (6), López (5), Gielo (), Lundberg (3), Konate (6), Guerra ().
Barça: Delaney (6), Kuric (4), Claver (7), Davies (14), Mirotic (18) -starters- Tomic (9), Oriola (3), Heurtel (4), Hanga (6), Abrines (16).
Periods: 20-23 / 20-27 / 18-14 / 25-23
Officials: Juan Carlos García, Alberto Sánchez and Jacobo Rial.

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article