Back-to-back Fair Play awards for Xavi

Back-to-back Fair Play awards for Xavi

For the second year in a row, the FC Barcelona midfielder beat out his first team team-mates to win the Fair Play award The five finalists, in addition to Xavi, were Abidal, Iniesta, Messi, Pedro and Puyol

Xavi Hernández is the winner of the fourth edition of the Barça Players Award, which is awarded by the Barça Players Association to the first team player who demonstrated the most fair play in the previous season. The jury, who met at the Camp Nou this afternoon, picked Xavi as the winner from among the six finalists – all the finalists were selected by popular vote. The other five finalists were Abidal, Iniesta, Messi, Pedro and Puyol.

The voting period opened on 2 June with the participation of President Sandro Rosell, and it closed on 30 June. Individuals could to cast their vote on the Facebook page of the Barça Players Association or on Twitter, with the hashtag #PremiFairPlay.

This is Xavi’s second Fair Play award in as many years as the midfielder picked up the award for the 2011/12 season earlier this year.

Personality and solidarity

The jury, which was made up of representatives from different sporting institutions, press and FC Barcelona members, noted “the player’s great personality and his capacity to synthesize and wholly transmit the values of barcelonismo,” influenced their final decision.

Throughout his career, Xavi has often stood in solidarity with those who needed it most. For example, in last season’s edition of the Champions League, in the quarter finals against PSG, the player scored from the penalty spot. Xavi dedicated the goal to a child who is battling leukemia; he also wore a shirt in support of the child.

Bojan and Iniesta

Xavi leads his team-mates when it comes to Fair Play awards, as he has won two throughout his career. The winners from previous editions are AndrésIniesta (2010/11) and BojanKrkic (2009/10). 

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article