FC Barcelona continue to dominate the Spanish Super Cup

FC Barcelona continue to dominate the Spanish Super Cup

FC Barcelona are the team with the most Spanish Super Cup titles Tata Martino claimed his first title as FC Barcelona's manager since he was appointed to the Barça bench earlier this summer

FC Barcelona claimed the Spanish Super Cup this Wednesday after the 0-0 draw against Atletico Madrid in the second leg of the competition at the Camp Nou. Neymar’s goal in the first leg at the Calderón (1-1) was enough for Barça to win the first official title of the season. This is Gerardo Tata Martino’s first title as FC Barcelona’s head manager.

Two titles ahead of the rest

Barça increased its Super Cup trophy haul advantage over the rest of the teams in Spain on Wednesday night. The Blaugrana have won a total of 11 Super Cup titles, two more than the team with the second most Super Cup crowns, Real Madrid. Deportivo are third with three trophies, while Valencia, Mallorca, Atletico Madrid, Athletic Club Bilbao, Real Sociedad, Zaragoza and Sevilla have won one.

Six titles in nine years

Barça won its first Super Cup title in 1983 against Athletic Club Bilbao, and in the last nine years the Blaugrana have claimed six more. Two were secured by Frank Rijkaard and his men in 2005 and 2006 against Betis and Espanyol, respectively, and Pep Guardiola won three titles consecutively (2009, 2010 and 2011). The title won this Wednesday by Tata Martino perpetuates Barça’s dominance in the competition.

The fourth title against Atletico Madrid

Blaugrana and Colchoneros have battled it out for the Super Cup on five occasions. The record currently stands at four victories for FC Barcelona (1991, 1992, 1996 and 2013) and one victory for Atletico Madrid (1985). In 1985, the away leg ended in a 3-1 victory for the Madrid-based team and 1-0 for Barça at the Camp Nou a week later; it was Atletico’s first Spanish Super Cup title ever, the first and last ever won over FC Barcelona.

The rest of the Super Cup matches between Barça and Atletico were dominated by the Blaugrana. In 1991, Guillermo Amore scored the match-winning goal at the Calderón in the first leg (0-1). The following week the two team tied 1-1, which meant Barça conquered the Cup, its second in Club history and Johan Cruyff’s first as Barça’s manager. In 1992, the two teams faced off again, on that occasion Barça defeated Atletico twice (3-1 in the first leg, 1-2 in the second leg).

Not counting the title won this Wednesday, the last Super Cup won by Barça over Atletico was in 1996. The away match was won by Bobby Robson’s men by 5 to 2 and the return leg was won by Atletico by 3-1.

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article