The King of Cups is back: Previous round of 32 matches

The King of Cups is back: Previous round of 32 matches

FC Barcelona, winners of a record 26 titles, have made it to seven of the last eight semi-finals

On Wednesday, Barça begin their bid to win the Spanish Cup, the Copa del Rey. They have a record 26 titles to their name, followed by Athletic Bilbao (23) and Real Madrid (19). The Catalans last lifted the trophy in 2011/12, beating the Basques in the final, while last season they lost in the final against Real Madrid.

Far more often than not, Barça make it into the final stages of the knockout tournament. In fact, they have been in seven of the last eight semi-finals, going on to win the cup in 2009 and 2012, and finishing runners-up in 2011 and 2014.

Barça debuts

It’s a tournament they take very seriously indeed, taking special care not to slip up against theoretically weaker sides in the opening rounds. Since the competition reverted to the two-legged round of 32 system, they have not been surprised by any Division 2B opponents, making it through to the last sixteen in the last nine editions and often in comfortable fashion.

Barça’s round of 32 record since 2005/06 amounts to 17 wins and one draw, scoring a massive 59 goals and conceding just seven:

2013/14Cartegena v FCB1-43-0
Alavés v FCB0-33-1
Hospitalet v FCB0-19-0
Ceuta v FCB0-25-1
Cultural Leonesa v FCB0-25-0
Benidorm v FCB0-11-0
Alcoyano v FCB0-32-2
Badalona v FCB1-24-0
Zamora v FCB1-36-0
Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article