Barça Lassa beat Guadalajara for a ninth consecutive title

Barça Lassa beat Guadalajara for a ninth consecutive title

A 40-24 win sees the team crowned unbeaten ASOBAL champions on Matchday 23

A 40-24 result against Guadalajara gave Barça Lassa both their latest victory and a ninth ASOBAL league title in a row, as Xavi Pascual's side were crowned champions on Matchday 23. The Blaugrana showed their superiority from the early stages of the game, with Aleix Gomez and Ilic shining as they scored 8 and 9 goals, respectively. Only two of the Barça Lassa players were unable to score in their side's 23rd victory in as many games.

Harmony between attack and defence

Aleix Gómez and Dika Mem started the team off strong with goals from all over the court, on both the counterattack and static moves. Barça Lassa's efficiency was such that they were 21-11 up at the end of the first half.

There was also some tremendous defensive work, including saves from Perez de Vargas, and Barça Lassa were able to seamlessly transition to go on the offensive.

A win and a title

The masterclass continued in the second half, and the home side remained by far the most prolific in front of goal. Only Víctor Tomás and Dolenc were unable to find the net, as Barça put away chance after chance. Perez de Vargas carried on making stops, and kept the ball out on 11 occasions.
The final score was 40-24, and with a perfect record Barça Lassa were able to celebrate another title in the presence of their fans at the Palau Blaugrana. Champions for the last nine years, they remain the side to beat in Spanish handball. 

Match Stats

Barça Lassa, 40
Guadalajara, 24

Barça Lassa: Pérez de Vargas (-), Andersson (2), Ariño (1), Aleix Gómez (8), Syprzak (3), Dika Mem (5) i Pálmarsson -Starting 7- Víctor Tomàs (-), Entrerríos (2), N'Guessan (2), Petrus (2), Dolenec (1), Duarte (1), Ilic (6) and Fabregas (3). 
Guadalajara: Adrian Eceolaza (-), Sergio Mellado (1), Antonio Serradilla (-), Chema Márquez (1), Pawel Niewrzawa (5), Gallardo (3) i García (4) -Starting 7- Donderis (-), Celada (-), Montoya (-), Sanz (4), Pedro Fuentes (3), Moya (3), Paredes (4), Cruz (-) and Simón (-). 
Partials: 4-1; 6-2; 12-4; 13-6; 16-9; 21-11 / 23-13; 24-17; 27-18; 31-20; 40-24.
Officials: Jordi Ausás Busquets and Miquel Florenza Virgili.

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article