25 World Championship medals

25 World Championship medals

Barça players have won a total of 13 gold, 6 silver and 6 bronze medals in previous World Championships

The 24 World Handball Championships take place in Doha between January 15 and February 1. Seventy-four Barça players have figured in 18 previous championships, bringing home a total of 25 medals.


Thirteen Barça players have won gold:

  • Sarmiento, Sterbik, Morros, Tomás, Rocas, Montoro and Ariño won gold in the last World Championships at the Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona.
  • Yugoslavian keeper Zlatan Arnautovic won his gold medal in the 1986 finals
  • Tomas Svensson won his in the 1999 finals in Egypt.
  • David Barrufet, Iker Romero and Fernando Hernández were part of the 2005 Spanish team that were proclaimed World Champions in 2005 in Tunisia
  • Cedric Sorhaindo, won gold with France in the 2011 championships held in Sweden


Silver medals have gone to:

  • Jesper Noddesbo, who was in the Danish team that lost to Spain in 2013 also won a silver in the 2011 competition when Denmark lost to France in the final
  • The Croatian Davor Dominikovic brought silver back to the Palau from Tunisia in 2005.
  •  As well as his gold, Tomas Svensson has also won two silver medals and the Croat Senanin Maglaijija won a runners up medal in Iceland in 1995.


  • Until the 2011 only one bronze medal was won by a Barça player - Jerome Fernández with Françe in 2005.
  • In 2011, Juanín García, Albert Rocas, Iker Romero, Cristian Ugalde and Raúl Entrerríos all won bronze with Spain.
Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article