The details of a perfect Cup run

The details of a perfect Cup run

89 years after they last achieved the feat, Barça have won every single game in the Cup this season for the first time since 1926

Barça have won their 27th Spanish Cup in undeniable winning fashion. Luis Enrique’s side were victorious in all nine games in which they have taken part in the competition, something that had not been achieved since Valencia’s run in 1954. If we focus only on Barça then there are three precedents in which they have won all their matches in the tournament: in 1910 and 1912, even though in this case only two games were played, and in 1926 when a team that included legends Alcántara and Samitier claimed the Cup after winning all eight games that they played in the competition.

Barça have won every Spanish Cup final that they have played in the city of Barcelona. In the years 1912 and 1913, the team lifted the trophy at the old Camp de la Indústria Stadium after beating Gimnástica de Madrid and Real Sociedad respectively. In 1957 at the Olympic Stadium in Montjuïc they beat Espanyol 1-0 and finally in 1963 they overcame Zaragoza 3-1 in the final at Camp Nou.

Xavi Hernández claimed his 24th trophy as a blaugrana, a record in Spanish Football with Cup win taking him past Paco Gento who has 23.

Dani Alves was the Barça player who made most successful passes in the final with 92. Leo Messi was the players who received most passes from the blaugrana right back with 41.

With his goal in the final Neymar became top scorer in this season’s Cup, equalling the seven goals of Sevilla striker Iago Aspas.

Luis Enrique has now won the Spanish Cup as a player and as a coach, a feat only previously achieved by Domènec Balmanya, Johan Curyff and Josep Guardiola at Barça.

Leo Messi has become one of 11 players in Barça history who have scored twice in a Spanish Cup final.

The Argentine number 10, with his two goals against Athletic, has now scored in three Spanish Cup finals, 2009, 2012 and 2015, a feat no player has achieved since 1983.

Barça have only been behind for 18 minutes during the competition’s nine matches this season, just 2.2% of the minutes played. It came at the Vicente Calderón when Atlético went ahead 1-0 thanks to Fernando Torres and then 2-1 up through Raúl García.

The Barça attacking front three of Leo Messi, Neymar and Luis Suárez have scored more goals than any other trio in Spanish Football in the space of a single season after their three goals on Saturday. The blaugrana troika now have 120 goals this campaign, surpassing the 118 scored by Cristiano Ronaldo, Higuaín and Benzema in the season 2011/12.

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article