Liceo 1 – 4 Barça: Copa del Rey champions!

Liceo 1 – 4 Barça: Copa del Rey champions!

Bargalló, Gual, Joao, and Pablo Álvarez all score as Barça claim fourth straight Copa del Rey

Barça Lassa did it again, this time with a 4-1 win over Liceo in the Copa del Rey final in Reus. It was sweet revenge on the Galician team, which had gotten the upper hand in the Super Cup, and thus added a new title to the Barça trophy case with a great second half, including goals from Pau Bargalló, Marc Gual, Joao Rodrigues and Pablo Álvarez.

The triumph hands Barça their fourth Copa del Rey in a row and their 23rd all-time. Barça beat Noia, Caldes and Liceo over three days to hoist the championship.

Liceo, nevertheless, did not make things easy. Sunday's duel was intense early, but great goalkeeping and missed opportunities at both ends sent the game into halftime with a scoreless deadlock.

Pau Bargalló opened the scoring just three minutes into the second half. Liceo were forced to take more risks on attack, but Aitor Egurrola stopped them. Marc Gual finished a combination with Joao to double Barça's lead in the 35th and inch the Catalans closer to the title.

Tournament MVP Joao Rodrigues then converted a penalty shot in the 42nd, making it 3-0. And Pablo Álvarez rounded out the scoring in the 43rd. Liceo's Martín Payero pulled one back in the final minute, but it was too little, too late as Barça celebrated their four-peat in Reus.


Deportivo Liceo, 1

Barça Lassa, 4

Liceo: Xavi Malian, Dava Torres, Carlo Di Benedetto, Sergio Miras, Facu Bridge —STARTING FIVE— Martín Payero, Fabrizio Ciocale, Marc Coy.

Barça: Egurrola, Gual, Pablo Álvarez, Pau Bargalló, Sergi Panadero —STARTING FIVE— Matias Pascual, Alabart, Joao Rodrigues, Nil Roca.

Goals: Pau Bargalló (0-1, min 28), Marc Gual (0-2, min 35). Joao Rodrigues (0-3, min 42). Pablo Álvarez (0-4, min 43). Martín Payero (1-4, min 50).

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article