Aalborg 30-31 Barça: Kings of Europe!

Aalborg 30-31 Barça: Kings of Europe!

Barça take Champions League glory with a thrilling win in the final in Cologe against their Danish opponents for a 12th title for the handball team

FC Barcelona are European Champions after a gruelling final in Cologne against Danish rivals Aalborg produced a nail-biting 31-30 victory for the blaugranes who record a twelfth win in the competition

Barça have won three of the last four competitions and coach Carlos Ortega now has eight to his name, six as a player and two now as the man in charge of the side. 

Dika Mem starts it off 

Captain Dika Mem got things off to an excellent start in the EHF Champions League final in the German city of Cologne. The Frenchman scored twice in the opening stages to hand Barça a 5-2 that they extended to 10-8 thanks to another man from France, Timothey N'Guessan. 

All square at half time 

However, Danish side Aalborg had most of the crowd behind them in the Lanxess Arena and they took a 15-14 just before the break only for blaugrana Melvyn Richardson to level things up at 15-15 at half time for Barça. 


Every ball a battle 

The second half began with a good save from Gonzalo Pérez de Vargas, who had come off the bench towards the end of the first period. Hampus Wanne also made an appearance as coach Ortega moved his pieces around to try and gain an advantage. The final was a tight one and Barça needed until the 40th minute to get more than a goal ahead of Aalborg at 22-20. 

The French trio of Richardson, Mem and N'Guessan were the impetus in attack for the blaugranes as Barça took a 28-26 lead with not long remaining. However, the Danes fought back with Mem in the sin-bin and Barça a man down. At 31-30 the blaugranes went into the final seconds clinging on and when Aalborg's Mikkel Hansen hit the bar with the final chance of the game, Barça were champions for the third time in four years and a 12th in total. 



Aalborg: 30
Barça: 31

Aalborg: Niklas Landin (0), Sebastian Barthold (2), Thomas Arnoldsen (6), Mads Hoxer Hangaard (6), Henrik Mollgaard (0), Kristian Bjornsen (4) and Simon Hald Jensen (0) - starting seven - Fabian Norsten (0), Lukas Nilsson (1), Patrick Larsen (0), Jesper Nielsen (0), Martin Larsen (0), Aleks Vlah (2), Rene Antonsen (1), Buster Juul (0) and Mikkel Hansen (8).

Barça: Emil Nielsen (0), Aleix Gómez (2), Dika Mem (7), Melvyn Richardson (8), Luís Frade (2), Jonathan Carlsbogård (2) and Aitor Ariño (0) - starting seven - Gonzalo Pérez de Vargas (0), Hampus Wanne (1), Blaz Janc (2), Timothey N'Guessan (6), Thiagus Petrus (0), Domen Makuc (0), Haniel Langaro (0), Petar Cikusa (1) and Javi Rodríguez (0).


Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article