Barça managers: Did you know?

Barça managers: Did you know?

The club has had over 50 coaches over the years, and here we analyse who tops various statistical categories

Johan Cruyff would have been 73 this Saturday 25 April, and it is also the sixth anniversary of the death of Tito Vilanova. This makes today an especially appropriate day to look back at Barça managers all the way from the very first, Billy Lambe in 1912, to the current man in the hotseat, Quique Setién.


Cruyff, most wins

Johan Cruyff, who managed FC Barcelona from 1988 to 1996 is still the man who coached the team to the most victories: 250 in his eight years in charge, including eleven major titles, and most particularly the first European Cup and the four back-to-back Liga championships.

Johan Cruyff és l'entrenador amb més partits i més victòries de la història del Club


Guardiola, top for titles

However, Pep Guardiola holds the record for the biggest haul of silverware. In four seasons from 2008 to 2012, the current Manchester City boss led the team to fourteen major trophies, including three Liga titles and two Champions Leagues.



Greenwell, most seasons

We need to go back a century to find the man who was manager of FC Barcelona for the longest time. Englishman Jack Greenwell was coach for a whole decade from 1913 to 1923, and returned to the job between 1931 and 1933.

Jack Greenwell (1913-23,1931-33)


Luis Enrique, best winning percent

But although all of the above achieved great things, in terms of wins per game then its Luis Enrique who was most consistent, with a staggering 76.24% in his three seasons in charge (from 2014 to 2017). 'Lucho' won nine major trophies in that time, including a Champions League and two Spanish Ligas.

Luis Enrique va aconseguir a Berlín el segon triplet de la història amb un futbol letal

Most games, four Dutchmen

Johan Cruyff managed the team in 430 games, but curiously three of the four men who follow him in that list were also from Holland. Frank Rijkaard is second with 273, followed by Rinus Michels with 264, and Louis Van Gaal is fifth with 100. The only man to break the Dutch monopoly is Josep Guardiola, who is fourth with 247.

At the other end of the scale we find José Luis Romero (1983), Rogelio Poncini (1983) and Jesús Antonio de la Cruz (2003), all of whom only managed Barça for one single game.


Coach Games Won Goals
Johan Cruyff 430 250 870
Frank Rijkaard 273 160 518
Rinus Michels 264 134 436
Josep Guardiola 247 179 638
Louis Van Gaal 200 111 398
Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article