Barça U19A will find out their Youth League opponent this Wednesday

Barça U19A will find out their Youth League opponent this Wednesday

UEFA will draw the balls for the 12th edition of the European youth competition, that sees a format change due to the Covid-19 pandemic, at 12 noon CET

The draw for the UEFA Youth League Round of 32 will take place this Wednesday in Nyon, at UEFA headquarters. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the competition has changed its format and will be played as a single match at the venue that the draw determines. 

The new format of the competition will see the teams divided into two routes of four groups each. On the one hand, the 32 teams that competed in the group stage of the Champions League, and on the other, the 32 teams from each national youth category with the best ranking. 

These two routes will be contested separately in the first two rounds (Round of 64 and Round of 32). From then on, the teams in the two routes can be mixed together in the draw.

In the run-up to the draw this Wednesday at 12 noon CET, UEFA has divided the 32 teams in the Champions League route into four groups of eight, doing the same for the national champions route.

FC Barcelona's U19A team, champions of the 2013/14 and 2017/18 editions, are in Group 4 and can be paired with the following opponents: Borussia Mönchengladbach, Liverpool, Lazio, Marseille, Lokomotiv Moscow, Dinamo Kiev and Ferencváros.

The other three groups in the Champions League route are:

Group 1: Bayern Munich, Sevilla, Manchester City, Inter, PSG, Shakhtar Donetsk, Porto and Olympiacos

Group 2: Leipzig, Real Madrid, Manchester United, Atalanta, Ajax, Krasnodar, Istanbul Basaksehir and Bruges

Group 3: Borussia Dortmund, At.Madrid, Chelsea, Juventus, Rennes, Zenit, Salzburg and Midtjylland.

The national champion route groups are as follows:

Group 1: Celta, PAOK, APOEL, Zabrze, Viitorul, Olimpia Ljubljana, ETO FC Gyór, Apolonia

Group 2: Cologne, Galatasaray, AZ Alkmaar, GNK Dinamo, Rangers, Hammarby, Rosenborg, Waterford

Group 3: Angers, Benfica, Genk, Sparta Prague, Odense, Basel, Red Star, MSK Zilina

Group 4: Chertanovo, Dinamo Minsk, Kairat Almaty, Gabala, Maccabi Haifa, Ludogorets, Shkendija and Sheriff Tiraspol.

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article