Real Madrid 86–79 Barça: Defeat in the Clásico
Brought to you by

Real Madrid 86–79 Barça: Defeat in the Clásico

Roger Grimau's team lose out in the first league meeting of the season against their big rivals in the Wikinz Center

Defeat for Barça in the first league Clásico of the season against Real Madrid in the Wizink Center with Roger Grimau's team going down 86-79 against their big rivals. The home side had the upper hand for most of the encounter with 22 points from Poirier and 17 from Campazzo turning out to be crucial in inflicting on the blaugranes their first league reverse of the campaign. 

For Barça, Jokubaitis scored 12 points and Brizuela 14 point but it was not enough to avoid defeat in Madrid. 

Real Madrid started the contest in electric fashion with Diagne and Campazzo contributing to handing the home side an 11-2 lead after just three minutes. Roger Grimau's side, however, were capable of reacting with Jabari Parker scoring six points to bring the score back to 14-13 at the end of the first quarter. 

The rest of the first half saw the sides exchange scoring but Madrid's superior rebounding helped them to a 37-33 lead at half time. 

At the start of the second half, the blaugranes could only look on as Poirier led Madrid to a 10 points lead at 46-36 with 23 minutes gone. A time out from coach Roger Grimau helped Barça regroup and by the time the fourth quarter came around they had pulled themselves back to 64-58 on 33 minutes. 

The home side reacted quickly and stretched their advantage accordingly to 82-66 with just three minutes remaining. 16 points down, Barça came back at the Madrid with nine unanswered points but it was not enough to avoid a 86-79 defeat, their first in the current ACB season. 




Real Madrid: Campazzo (17), Abalde (2), Musa (13), Yabusele (3), Diagne (9) -starting five- Causeur (-), Sergio Rodríguez (-), Poirier (22), Llull (9), Ndiaye (2), Rudy Fernández (4), Hezonja (5).

Barça: Laprovittola (10), Satoransky (2), Kalinic (10), Parker (7), Vesely (2) -starting five- Da Silva (2), Brizuela (14), Jokubaitis (12), Hernangómez (4), Abrines (3), Nnaji (8), Parra (5).


Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article