Barça 87-89 Unicaja: Out of the cup
Brought to you by

Barça 87-89 Unicaja: Out of the cup

The blaugranes go down to defeat in overtime after surrendering 13 point lead in the Copa del Rey

The defence of the title is over with Saras Jasikevicius' team losing 87-89 in overtime in the quarter final of the Copa del Rey. After two consecutive victories in the competition, Barça managed to squander a lead of 13 points in a game that they will wonder how they did not come out as victors. 

Nnaji gets culers off to a good start

The blaugranes started in encouraging fashion and Nnaji, making his debut in the competition, helped Barça to a 28-20 lead with assistance from Mirotic and Abrines. At one point Saras' side led by 13 points until Unicaja emerged from their lethargy to come back to cut the deficit to 41-34 at half time in the Pavelló Olímpic in Badalona. 

Una esmaixada de Nnaji ha dibuixat un parcial favorable de 7-0

Defences on top

In the third quarter Kalinic and Satoransky maintained Barça in the driving seat but Unicaja managed to keep themselves in the game at 55-50 down with just the fourth quarter to come. 

Barça again had a healthy lead of 11 points before the Andalusians mounted another comeback to get within two points at 67-65 with four minutes remaining. The scores were tied at 76-76 with both side having chances to take the win in normal time before the game moved into an extra period. 

Mirotic kept Barça's hopes of a place in the semi final alive but Unicaja's advantage of four points at one stage was too much for Saras' team. Missed shots from the field and free throw line meant defeat for the Copa del Rey holder with Unicaja holding on for a 89-87 win in the quarter final. 


Barça, 87
Unicaja, 89

Barça: Vesely (7), Kalinić (3), Mirotić (15), Satoransky (11) and Laprovittola (12) -starting five- Jokubaitis (7), Sanli (4), Abrines (8), Tobey (6), Higgins (10), Nnaji (4) and Sergi Martínez (-)
Unicaja: Ejim (-), Barreiro (-), Carter (3), Kravish (10) and Perry (22) -starting five- Alberto Díaz (2), Brizuela (27), Osetkowski (8), Kalinoski (12), Thomas (5) and Djedovic (-)

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article