Real Madrid 81-74 FC Barcelona: Goodbye to the league
Brought to you by

Real Madrid 81-74 FC Barcelona: Goodbye to the league

The all-whites take game four and with that clinch the best-of-five final series 3-1

Barça lost game four of the Liga Endesa final, and also the series, 3-1, meaning Real Madrid are crowned Spanish champions for 2021/22. As in game three, the Catalans never really got to grips with this one, and errors with defensive rebounds and a lack of shooting accuracy at the moments that mattered most proved to be their downfall.

Shaky start

Things got off to a bad start as Madrid scored the first seven points, and with the home totally on top of the offensive rebounds, they led by three at the end of the first period.

The second period started worse than the first. An 11-0 streak for Madrid put 14 points between them. But threes from Mirotic and Exum were potential game changers as Barça fought back to 27-20. Then, 3-pointers from Calathes and Exum meant barça were just trailing by one at the break. Back in it big time!


Three pointers continued to be the Catalan lifeline in the third. There was more intensity to their game and they were no longer allowing Madrid to amass easy points. Scores from Calathes and Higgins still had Barça just one adrift going into the final ten.

Madrid again stormed off the blocks. A 12-3 streak as good as won the game for the all-whites. Barça still threatened to mount a comeback, but were let down by poor control of defensive rebounds and not taking the chances when they fell. The clock ticked down and it became apparent that this was a lost cause.

Madrid win the series 3-1, and with that the championship.


Madrid, 81
Barça, 74

Madrid: Hanga (7), Causeur (17), Deck (7), Yabusele (4), Tavares (25), Llul (9)l, Rudy (5), Taylor (-), Abalde (-), Porier (7), Núñez (-), Ndiaye (-)

Barça: Calathes (12), Higgins (4), Kuric (8), Mirotic (14), Davies (4), Laprovittola (2), Sanli (3), Jokubaitis (5), Smits (9), Exum (13), Sergi Martínez (-), Abrines (-)

Periods: 13-10; 21-23 // 23-23; 24-18

Referees: Óscar Perea, Daniel Hierrezuelo, Martín Caballero


Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article