Navarro, the day he broke the Euroleague points record. PHOTO: ÀLEX CAPARRÓS-FCB.

The Euroleague announced on Friday that FC Barcelona will be among the top seeds in the draw for the regular season of the Euroleague.  The draw will be held in Barcelona on Thursday 4th July.  The team coached by Xavi Pascual will be joined in the seed 1 group by Real Madrid, Olympiacos and Panathinaikos.

The second seeds are CSKA Moscow, Maccabi, Montepaschi Siena and Anadolu Efes Istanbul.

Other dangerous opponents

The third seeds are Laboral Kutxa, Unicaja Malaga, Fenerbahçe Ulker and Zalgiris while the fourth seeds are Galatasaray, Brose Baskets, Budivelnik and Lokomotiv.  Armani Jeans Milan, Red Star, Partizan and Stelmet Zielona have been allocated to the fifth seed group while in the sixth pot we have Bayern Munich, Strasbourg, Nanterre and the team that makes it through from the qualifying phase.

Six newcomers

There are sixth teams making their debuts in this ninth edition of the Euroleague – pending final confirmation from the competition committee on 3rd July.  These include Nanterre –winners of the French league-, Stelmet Zielona –Polish champions-, Red Star Belgrade –runners up in the Adriatic league-, Lokomotiv Kuban –Russian runners up-, while Budivelnik Kiev and Bayern Munich have been invited by the Euroleague.  The other invitation goes to French league runners up Strasbourg.

One place for eight teams

Pending final approval, next season’s Euroleague will consist of 24 teams.  The last remaining place will go to the team that successfully comes through the qualifying phase.  The eight contenders are Banvit (Turkey), Nymburk (Czech Republic), Varese (Italy), Oldenburg (Germany), Lietuvos Rytas (Lithuania), Khimki (Russia), Ostende (Belgium) and VEF Riga (Latvia).

Back to top