Barça Regal’s victory over Valencia Basket saw the Azulgranas through to the final series of the Liga Endesa. This is the second time in Club history that Barça Regal have featured in the finals for six consecutive years. Since Xavi Pascual took charge of the team, in 2008, the Azulgranas haven’t missed out on the chance to win the domestic league.

The run started in 2007

The first final of this particular run started in the 2006/07 season, with Dusko Ivanovic on the bench. Barça Regal, however, lost in the final to Real Madrid (3-1). The following season (2007/08), in Xavi Pascual’s debut year, Barça got to the finals once again. From that season on, Barça have never failed to reach the last stage of the competition. During this time, Barça have won two Liga titles (2008/09, 2010/11) by beating Caja Laboral (1-3) and Bizkaia Bilbao (3-0) respectively.

Besides this most recent run, FC Barcelona also featured in the final series for four consecutive seasons, from 1993/94 to 1997/98. This is the second-best run in the history of the ACB.

8 out of the last 10

These six consecutive final appearances are part of the magnificent run Barça Regal have enjoyed since Pascual took charge of the bench. In fact, Barça have played in 8 of the last 10 Liga finals. Barça won the league in 2002/03, 2003/04, 2008/09 and 2010/11.

Back to top