Navarro, Sada and Vázquez,the captains of Barça Regal (Photo: Àlex Caparrós - FCB)

FC Barcelona Regal has a new challenge this February: The King’s Cup 2012. The Azulgranas will walk out onto the Palau court fulling knowing that they could make history and be the first team to win three consecutive Cup titles.

Up to six Barça Regal players, besides Xavi Pascual on the bench, have been with the team for more than two seasons (when Barça Regal beat Real Madrid in Bilbao, 80-61). Besides the captain, Juan Carlos Navarro, Fran Vázquez (MVP of the tournament), Boniface Ndong, Víctor Sada, Erazem Lorbek and Pete Mickeal are all players that featured in the final two years ago.

A year after the final in Bilbao, Barça Regal managed to play the Cup championship match again, against Real Madrid in the Spanish capital (60-68). Barça Regal has shown their dominance in the tournament over the past two years with a team full of veterans: Navarro, Sada, Perovic, Vázquez, Ingles, Ndong, Lorbek and Mickeal, who couldn’t play last year’s final because he was injured.

The players have 17 Cup titles between them

Juan Carlos Navarro: 2001, 2003, 2007, 2010 and 2011

Fran Vázquez: 2007, 2010 and 2011

Víctor Sada: 2010 and 2011

Boniface Ndong: 2010 and 2011

Erazem Lorbek: 2010 and 2011

Pete Mickeal: 2010 and 2011

Kosta Perovic: 2011

Back to top