El Barça Regal celebra la 17a Lliga / FOTO: MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB

After winning the Lliga Catalana and the Spanish Super Cup, Barça Regal have finished off the 2011/12 season on a high by beating Real Madrid in the play off finals in a thrilling final game, after previously seeing off Lucentum Alicante and Valencia, to take their 17th league title. Three of those titles came between 1958 and 1983, with the rest coming in the ACB era – a period Barça have dominated.

Barça dominance

Barça have won 14 of the last 29 ACB titles and lead the honours table in the modern era, ahead of Madrid (8), Caja Laboral (3), FIATC Joventut (2), Assignia Manresa (1) and Unicaja (1).

In fact, the team have reached 14 of the last 18 finals and this latest win was in their sixth successive final appearance - three of which have ended in victory.

Pascual’s third

The last three titles have all come under the stewardship of coach The Catalan continues to pile up the trophies after four and a half seasons at the helm and is now fourth in the table of league winning coaches, level with Antoni Serra,and behind Pedro Ferrándiz (12), Lolo Sáinz (10) and Aíto García Reneses (9).

Back to top