It has been eight years since Leo Messi inherited the coveted no.10 jersey from former friend and teammate Ronaldinho.

Messi is part of a list of elite players who have donned the famous shirt as their own, since 1995/96 when permanent numbers came into practice: Ángel Cuéllar (1995/96), Giovanni Silva (1996-99), Jari Litmanen (1999/00), Rivaldo (2000-02), Juan Román Riquelme (2002/03) and Ronaldinho (2003-08).

In the eight years that followed, Messi reached the very summit of the sport, winning the Ballon d’Or five teams as well as a host of other personal achievements.

1 / 6

Àngel Cuéllar

The winger was the first to wear the no.10 at Barça on a permanent basis. He wore it for one year before Giovanni Silva took over.

2 / 6

Giovanni Silva

The second no.10 at the club was Giovanni Silva, who wore it for three years straight.

3 / 6

Jari Litmanen

The Finnish playmaker donned the shirt in 1999/00, before Rivaldo made it his own.

4 / 6


The famous Brazilian wore it from 2000 until 2002 after previously wearing the no.11 for three years.

5 / 6

Juan Román Riquelme

Leo Messi was not the first Argentine at Barça to wear the no.10, as the silky attacking midfielder Joan Roman Riquelme did so for one season.

6 / 6


The Brazilian magician wore the jersey for no.10 and graced it with countless fine moments before Messi.

Back to top