From left to right: Javier Mascherano, Ivan Rakitic, Neymar, Lionel Messi, Andrés Iniesta and Luis Suárez. / FCB Infographic

FC Barcelona's Lionel Messi, Neymar, Luis Suárez, Andrés Iniesta, Ivan Rakitic and Javier Mascherano have been included in the list of 23 candidates for the FIFA Ballon d'Or. On 30 November, FIFA and France Football will announce the names of the three finalists at an event to be streamed on the internet.

Here is the full list of 23 players nominated for the best player of the year:

Sergio Agüero (Argentina / Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales / Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / VfL Wolfsburg / Manchester City) Eden Hazard (Belgium / Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden / Paris Saint-Germain), Andrés Iniesta (Spain / FC Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany / Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich), Javier Mascherano (Argentina / FC Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona), Thomas Müller (Germany / Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Alemaya / Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil / FC Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France / Juventus ), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia / FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands / Bayern Munich), James Rodríguez (Colombia / Real Madrid), Alexis Sánchez (Chile / Arsenal) Luis Suárez (Uruguay / FC Barcelona), Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast / Manchester City), Arturo Vidal (Chile / Juventus / Bayern Munich).

Best coach

Not surprisingly, FC Barcelona head coach Luis Enrique is among the candidates for coach of the year. The nominees this year are: Massimiliano Allegri (Italy / Juventus), Carlo Ancelotti (Italy / Real Madrid), Laurent Blanc (France / Paris Saint-Germain) Unai Emery (Spain / Seville), Pep Guardiola (Spain / Bayern Munich), Luis Enrique Martínez (Spain / FC Barcelona), José Mourinho (Portugal / Chelsea), Jorge Sampaoli (Argentina / Selección de Chile), Diego Simeone (Argentina / Atlético de Madrid), Arsène Wenger (France / Arsenal).

Back to top