The Barça players celebrate a goal against BATE Borisov at the Camp Nou / VICTOR SALGADO - FCB

The scenario this evening was that FC Barcelona needed a single point from the game with AS Roma to ensure qualification for the second round of the Champions League, and moreover as group leaders. But they ended up making it into the last sixteen before a ball had been kicked after BATE Borisov and Bayer Leverkusen drew 1-1 in the other game in the group, which kicked off in Belarus three hours earlier.

Gordeichuk put the home side ahead after just two minutes, but Mehmedi pulled level for the Germans with 22 minutes to go, and the draw means that Leverkusen have lost all mathematical hope of catching Barça.

The result also means that should they win at the Camp Nou tonight, AS Roma will join Barça in the next round – any other result and it will all go down to the final day, when Bayer host Barcelona and Roma host BATE Borisov.

Four titles

Barça have been ever-presents in the Champions League round of 16 since the 2004/05 season. The year before they weren’t involved in the competition, and played in what was then still known as the UEFA Cup.

In those twelve seasons, the Catalans have gone on to win the European title four times (Paris, Rome, Wembley and Berlin), while in the same period no other club has won it more than once. The teams clubs to have lifted the trophy are Liverpool, AC Milan, Manchester United, Inter Milan, Chelsea, Bayern and Real Madrid.

Back to top