The quartet at the Ciutat Esportiva today with their captain’s armbands / PHOTO: MIGUEL RUIZ-FCB

The result of a vote between all of the members of the first team squad on Tuesday to nominate the four captains for the 2014/15 season was announced on Thursday. Xavi Hernández, Andrés Iniesta, Leo Messi and Sergio Busquets, in that order, are the chosen players.

Messi and Busquets are both newcomers to the role after Carles Puyol and Víctor Valdés, the first and third captains respectively, left the team at the end of last season. However, both worn of them the captain’s armband on isolated occasions in the past, so neither of them are entirely unfamiliar with the responsibility.

Xavi Hernández, meanwhile, has been second captain for the last six seasons, and has now been promoted to the top position as a replacement for Carles Puyol.

Definidos los cuatro nuevos capitanes del Barça... por fcbarcelona
Back to top