Neuer, Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo were the three finalists for the award / PHOTO: MIGUEL RUIZ-FCB

FC Barcelona’s Leo Messi came second in this year’s voting for the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014 with 15.76% of the votes, topped only by Cristiano Ronaldo, who took the award with 37.66%. Third place went to Manuel Neuer (15.72%), while another Barça player Neymar Jr, came seventh with 2.21%.

Only three Barça players were eligible to vote, namely Leo Messi, Claudio Bravo and Neymar Jr as captains of Argentina, Chile and Brazil. Messi named international/club team-mates Di María, Iniesta and Mascherano. The Barça keeper opted for Messi, Iniesta and Neuer. And the Brazilian’s votes went to Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mascherano.

Former Barça player and Sweden captain Zlatan Ibrahimovic was also eligible to vote and picked Messi, Neuer and Ronaldo, as was another national captain with a Barça past, Seydou Keita of Mali, who gave his votes to Ronaldo, Neuer and ex-Barça colleague Toure Yaya. Former FCB and current Argentina boss Tata Martino named his compatriots Messi, Di Maria and Mascherano as his top three.

Find the full list of who voted for who at the Ballon d'Or 2014.

Back to top