Barça's recent Champions League finals/ FCB

FC Barcelona are through the Champions League final for the fourth time in a decade. Berlin will be the venue this time, following finals in 2006 in Paris, 2009 in Rome and 2011 in London.


The first was played at the Stade de France, Paris on May 17, 2006. Frank Rijkaard had guided the side past Chelsea, Benfica and AC Milan in the previous rounds. Two goals from Eto’o and Belletti cancelled out Campbell’s opener for Manchester United.


Three years later, on May 27, 2009, the Olympic Stadium in Rome was the venue for another final with Barça involvement. Manchester United were the opponents once again and Eto’o and Messi won Barça’s third title. In the previous rounds, FCB had eliminated Olympique Lyon, Bayern Munich and Chelsea.


Guardiola was manager for another final two years later, on May 28, 2011 at the new Wembley in another final against Manchester United. Barça won once again with goals from Pedro, Messi and Villa. Arsenal, Shakhtar Donetsk and Real Madrid were FC Barcelona’s victims in the previous rounds.


Berlin is now a reality. Luis Enrique beat the champions of three of Europe’s biggest leagues, Manchester City, PSG and Bayern, to reach final four in the last decade. No other club can match that record, with Manchester United and Bayern Munich having featured in three, each side winning just one of those.

Back to top