Bigger King of Cups than ever

FC Barcelona have won the Spanish Cup for an incredible 27th time. The Camp Nou was the venue as Athletic Club were beaten, the Catalan’s third title in six years. In all of the 2008-09, 2011-12 and 2014-15 finals, the side from Bilbao were the side they beat to win the trophy.

Barça have won those 27 titles after appearing in 38 finals. Even before the match, they were the club with the most titles ever, and that number is now four more than Athletic Club, who with 23 were the most decorated side for a century before Barça finally overtook them in the ranking. Real Madrid have the third best record in the knockout competition with 19 titles to their name.

Full house

Under Luis Enrique, Barça have just completed a perfect Copa del Rey. It all started in the round of 32, where they beat Huesca 4-0 away and 8-1 at home. They also beat Elche in both legs, 5-0 at home and 4-0 away before doing likewise against Atlético Madrid in the quarters. Messi got the only goal in a 1-0 win at the Camp Nou, and the job was finished off with a fine 3-2 victory at the Vicente Calderón.

The final hurdle was Villarreal in the semis. Barça won both legs 3-1 to make into the grand final, where they have just beaten Athletic Bilbao to claim the trophy with a 100 per cent record of wins.

Back to top