Messi in this afternoon's session / PHOTO: MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB

Tito Vilanova has unveiled his 22-man list for FC Barcelona’s pre-season friendly against Raja Club Athletic after today’s training session. The Azulgrana manager will take 9 first-team players - Pinto, Alves, Bartra, Dos Santos, Alexis, Messi, Mascherano, Afellay and Adriano - and 13 Barça B players to Tangiers.

Without a doubt, the big news is that Leo Messi, who missed the team’s first pre-season match due to injury, will travel to Morocco. Newcomers to Tito’s team also include Kiko Femenía, Lombán and Gustavo. Reservists Ilie and Joan Ángel Román, and first-teamer, Marc Muniesa, were dropped from the team.

Ilie’s back pain persists

The team completed this Friday’s training session at the Ciutat Esportiva Joan Gamper. Just like in yesterday’s two sessions, Messi and Puyol trained with the group. Ilie, on the other hand, continued the recovery plan set out by the team’s physio. According to Club’s Medical Services, Ilies lumbar pain is expected to persist, thus he’ll miss the match in Tangiers.

The usual Barça B players that have trained with the first team were joined today by Deulofeu, Lombán, Balliu, Espinosa, Gustavo and Patric.

Travel plans

Vilanova and his team will depart from the Camp Nou at 10.15 for El Prat Airport. The team’s plane will leave Barcelona at 11.00. The plane is scheduled to touchdown at 10.55. Upon arrival, the Barça expedition will go to the team hotel and then head out to the Grand Stade Tangiers Stadium. The match against Raja Club Athletic is scheduled to start at 22.00.

The team will return to Barcelona on Sunday. The plane is scheduled to depart Morocco at 9.30 and land in the Catalan capital at 13.10.

*All times are local (CEST). Moroccan time is one hour behind

The team and kit numbers

Pinto (13)
Oier (25)
Dani Alves (2)
Bartra (3)
Lombán (5)
Sergi Roberto (6)
Deulofeu (7)
Dos Santos (8)
Alexis (9)
Messi (10)
Rafinha (12)
Mascherano (14)
Kiko Femenía (15)
Sergi Gómez (16)
Lobato (17)
Patric (18)
Planas (19)
Afellay (20)
Adriano (21)
Balliu (23)
Espinosa (24)
Gustavo (26)

Back to top