Messi, scores the 1-1 against Madrid. PHOTO: MIGUEL RUIZ-FCB.

Tito Vilanova’s winning streak came to an end after the 2-2 draw against Real Madrid on Sunday. The manager’s team had claimed the three points in its opening six games of the Liga. The 2012/13 Barça team has equalled the record of opening consecutive wins of other famed Barça sides: Guardiola (2009/10), Van Gaal (1997/98), Cruyff (1990/91) and Bellamy (1929/30). Curiously enough, every winning run achieved by Tito’s predecessors ended with a draw.

The other 6+1

At Mestalla in 2009, Valencia and Barça finished their Liga match with a goalless draw. It was one of the only games where the Blaugrana didn’t secure three points, they would go on to finish the season with a total point-haul of 99. In 1997, a surprising Compostela side denied Barça its seventh consecutive victory. The game ended in a 2-2 draw, Barça’s goal scorers were Óscar and Rivaldo.

In 1990, when victories were rewarded with two points, the Blaugrana stringed together six wins from their first six games, the seventh match in the Liga ended in a draw at Osasuna’s El Sadar. Finally, in 1929 it was Athletic Club that broke Barça’s winning streak. The Basques fought back from a goal down to secure1-1 draw at Les Courts after the legendary Piera opened the scoring for the Blaugrana.

Back to top