Semifinals against Atlante / PHOTO: ARXIU FCB

FC Barcelona has not known defeat in the  Club World Cup semifinals. Barça won both of its two previous semifinal engagements, 2006 and 2009, against two Mexican sides, América and Atlante. Consequently, they reached the final both years, winning the trophy once.

2006/07: Semifinal against América

Even though the first scoring opportunity of the game went to América, Barça beat their Mexican counterparts with ease (4-0). Gudjohnsen opened the night’s scoring frenzy, soon to be followed by Márquez, Ronaldinho and Deco. Barça could have scored more, but Ochoa, América’s keeper, did well to hold back the Blaugrana onslaught. Despite the convincing win in the semifinals, Frank Rijkaard’s men missed out on the opportunity to lift the first Club World Cup in Barça’s history when they were unable to overcome Brazil’s Internacional in the final.

2009/10: Semifinal against Atlante

It was the season of the six cups. The year of the ‘sextete.’ Pep’s first season at the Barça helm. Barça, after coming so close in 2006/07, went on to beat Estudiantes and lift the Club World Cup for the first time. But to get to the final Pep Guardiola’s men needed to fight from a goal down in the semifinals against Atlante. The Mexican side had scored in the forth minute but the Catalans were up to the task and battled back to to earn a 1-3 victory. Busquets scored the equaliser off a set piece and was soon followed by Messi and Pedro, the first FC Barcelona player to score in all competitions in one season. The final was against Estudiantes, and again Barça found itself behind on the scoreboard. Things were looking bleak for the Blaugrana but a late goal from Pedro forced overtime. In the end, it was Messi with the definitive goal that earned his side its first ever Club World Cup.

After having won in Abu Dhabi in 2009, FC Barcelona will have new opportunity to win another World Club Cup, this time in Japan. Barça has never won a final on Japanese territory, the team fell in the championship match to both Sao Paulo and Internacional de Porto Alegre in previous editions of the competition.

Back to top